Events

Telephonic press briefing featuring higher education leaders, students, and elected officials to discuss the importance of the DREAM Act

Children of Immigrants

Date/Time
09/21/2010
12:00 pm - 1:00 pm

iCal Google

Event Type


On September 21, Colleges, universities, education associations, and students groups will speak out to ask Congress to “Realize the DREAM” and pass the DREAM Act, legislation that would provide a path to citizenship for undocumented students who have been in the United States since childhood if they attend college or perform military service. A telephonic press briefing will be held at noon EST to discuss the importance of this vital education issue.

WHAT: Telephonic press briefing featuring higher education leaders, students, and elected officials to discuss the importance of the DREAM Act for educators in America.

WHO: Arne Duncan, Secretary, U.S. Department of Education Michael Crow, President, Arizona State University John J. DeGioia, President, Georgetown University Myrtle Dorsey, Chancellor, Baton Rouge Community College, and Chair-elect, American Association of Community Colleges Carlos Rivera, DREAM student, University of Montana Marielena Hincapié, Executive Director, National Immigration Law Center (moderator)

CALL-IN INFO: Call Time: 12 pm EST/11 am CST/10 am MST/9 am PST To attend the telephonic briefing, please dial 800-895-1549 and ask for “Realize the DREAM.” *note: this call is for media only*

BACKGROUND: Recently introduced as an amendment to the Department of Defense authorization bill, the DREAM Act is currently awaiting a vote in the Senate. The bill has 39 co-sponsors.

“Realize the DREAM” is a national day of action to highlight the importance of the DREAM Act to the higher education community.